Social Suicide

Hello everybody,

I’m back from the weekend Ireland travels and although I have posted about this before (on here) , I have a few more photographs to add to the already thrilling collection:

St Patrick's College in Maynooth. Very grand . Lots of ivy everywhere.

St Patrick’s College in Maynooth. Very grand . Lots of ivy everywhere.

The inside of St Patrick's College. If I had an inside which looked anything like this, I would spend all of my time screaming and running up and down the halls.

The inside of St Patrick’s College. If I had an inside which looked anything like this, I would spend all of my time screaming and running up and down the halls.

That’s all I want to add in the form of photos today . More of my time was spent on quality conversation as opposed to site-seeing , which was a relief because I have very few people in my life who I can actually have a quality conversation with (put aside the default quality conversationalists of husband, mother, etc).

On the conversation menu this weekend was the increasingly frequent thought of committing social suicide. I’ll explain…

I have very few friends. This is the way life is intended to be. Quality over quantity. I have 5-7 good people on my Facebook , and the other 240 are of no importance to me. I have accepted their invitations because :

a) I was being polite

b) Having a total of 5-7 friends would look creepy and yes there is an element of me that wants to look socially acceptable and not like a serial killer.

c) I am occasionally entertained by how absolutely ridiculous their lives are

It is mostly reason C that keeps me connected to people, however occasionally the statuses which people choose to publicise are so inappropriate that I want to leave my opinion as a parting gift before deleting them off my network entirely. My opinion in these instances would be termed social suicide:

”I would almost agree with you , if it weren’t for the fact that you are quite illiterate. Please also use punctuation where appropriate so that I may complete my understanding of what you’ve just said.” – Unfriend.

”The way you berate your partner/husband/wife is completely inappropriate and is the exact reason you are having problems in your relationship right now.” – Unfriend.

”Stop sharing affirmations and quotes. You are the least inspirational person I know.” – Unfriend.

”You have no understanding of social cues and norms.” – Unfriend.

And the list goes on. Does anyone else have suicidal tendencies of this nature?

Some day I will complete this action, or maybe this will be a group activity of the future (Un-friending party anyone?). But until then , I’m still being entertained.

 

 

Leave a Reply

