Posted in Food Reviews, Miscellaneous, Reviews

Taking care of Herman

Good evening people,

If you’re running a little short on ideas for presents , I have an idea for you. Here, I’ll explain..

I share my office with one other person. This person does not know me well.

I got to work yesterday and there was a bowl of yeast sitting on my desk.

”Do you like baking?”, work person asks.

I inform them that I am a fan of eating baked goods but…

”It’s a tradition my friends have…it’s a German friendship cake . It’s Herman”.

I look at work person.

I believe this was my expression at the time
I believe this was my expression at the time

Not wanting to complicate matters further I took the bowl and its’ set of instructions and we spoke no more of Herman for the rest of the day.

I got home and Herman and I just looked at each other for a while, not really knowing what to do with ourselves.

IMG_2885

Luckily, the instructions are simple:

Day 1 – you receive Herman, he needs to be placed in a large mixing bowl.

Day 2 – you stir Herman

Day 3 – you stir again

Day 4 – you feed Herman 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of milk

Days 5-8 – you stir

Day 9 – feed Herman the same as Day 4 and divide into four portions. Keep portion 4 for yourself but the other three, you do what work person did to me. You give that thing away.

Day 10 – add 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 cups plain flour, 1/2 cup cooking oil, 2 eggs, 2 tsp vanilla essence, 2 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp baking powder. You can also add whatever else you want from chocolate, raisins, apple, etc. I’m trying mine with marzipan on Thursday.

Sprinkle with sugar and bake for 45-60 mins at 170-180C.

This is the perfect fungal infection to spread this Christmas to people you know, or don’t.

One thought on “Taking care of Herman

Leave a Reply

