Posted in Miscellaneous, Reviews, Travel

The power of saying Yes

Good-day all,
I’ve been off the grid for a little while , all with good reason ( i hope ), and am wishing you all a very belated happy new year!
A snippet of where I was.
A snippet of where I was.
With that in mind, I was thinking about new years resolutions and what they could mean.
I’m not one for setting new years resolutions and infact am more interested in watching the results the year after; the failures, the successes. Let’s be honest, we all wait in anticipation for that girl who said she would ‘get fit’ to lose her 200 pounds and ultimately fail in doing so. The failures are more fun to watch, you know it.
But that’s not today’s story.
Last year my special someone decided to say Yes to everything. That was his new years resolution, plain and simple. We thought nothing of it for the rest of the year and it really was a resolution I believed was said and forgotten on 1st January 2012.
One year later; we have travelled more than we ever did, met new friends, changed roles in our job or changed jobs altogether, and possibly put on some weight (*note to selves – saying Yes to everything has it’s consequences).
So, it could all be a coincidence. But I really want to believe it isn’t. Most of us would have at one point or another come across annoying inspirational quotes such as
”You have to be the change in your life ”
or at the very least, movies like ”Yes Man”. ( I’m sure there are more poignant examples of the power of positive thinking but a Jim Carrey movie was all I had right there).
Last week I was privileged enough to witness my two closest friends putting the power of yes into full force at their wedding. Bringing together family and friends from across the globe, some of whom had not seen each other in over 20 years.
The event may not have been the same had all those people not said (and I’m paraphrasing) ,”Fuck it, let’s do this.”
And so if your new years resolution is anything at all; you don’t have to say Yes to everything, but I’m urging you not to say No so easily.

Leave a Reply

