Posted in Book reviews, Cinema, Movie reviews, Movies, Reviews

The Perks of Being a Wallflower? – None

I gave The Perks of being a Wallflower a try. I have never been so irritated by a movie.

I was hoping to say that at least the odd angst-y teenager might be able to appreciate this film, but I can’t even say that with any confidence.

Charlie is a sensitive, awkward, lonely ‘wallflower’ of a boy who starts his first year of high school. Bloggers , meet Charlie –

OH COME ON!!!
OH COME ON!!!

He teams up with two senior kids Patrick and Sam (Sam is a girl), who show Charlie how to live a little. Loneliness is meant to be an underlying theme in the movie with each of the characters struggling with their own ‘issues’ of either childhood abuse or … well, that’s about it. (Honestly, how many more issues can you have at 15 apart from acne).

And readers,  it’s not that I’ve forgotten what it was like to be a teenager and all that comes with it. I haven’t . I remember.  I could have appreciated this movie just as much as the next 13 year old. But that’s not the point here. The point is .. had I seen this movie as a teenager, I would have hated it just as much.

I kept having to remind myself what year the movie is set in (1991) as Sam (Emma Watson) claims her favourite bands are The Smiths (amongst others) , but then doesn’t recognise David Bowies’ Heroes on the radio.

”Who is this?? Turn it up!! What a great song!! ”

And really.. The Smiths? I’m tired of movies using The Smiths as shorthand to representing a ‘deep’ and ‘sensitive’ character who say’s things like :

”We are infinite!”

''unique'' teenagers.
”unique” teenagers.

Possibly the only positive is Ezra Miller as Patrick,but I feel like I’m only saying this because I feel sorry for him and find him the most attractive.

Please give this movie a try though. Be irritated with me.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower? – None

Leave a Reply

