Posted in Beauty Reviews, Food Reviews, Miscellaneous, Reviews, Travel

Eating for two

Good-evening all,

Yes, I am indeed eating for two. No I am not ‘with child’ . (This medium would be an odd way to break the news to friends and family wouldn’t it?).

But our visit to Champneys Spa really proved we are on a slightly dangerous ride when it comes to our health and wellbeing. My last post was about running and fitness and honestly I don’t intend for this to be one of those blogs but wow, this place will really make you think twice about what you’re putting into your body (food wise).

IMG_0102

 

We arrived and were greeted with fluffy robes, slippers, and an A4 sized spreadsheet of our fitness schedule for the next two days. It included everything from Yoga to spin classes… to the more ambiguous ’20/20′ and ‘TRX’ classes.

Champneys, it turns out, focuses on internal and external wellness (much to my partners disappointment on the former). Our stay included breakfast, lunch and dinner. By breakfast I mean muesli, by lunch I mean salad/leaves, and by dinner I mean salad/leaves . For those of you who are reading this and not feeling alarmed at all, I’m happy for you I really am. (Go away).

A bit of a history lesson before I go on; approximately 9 years ago I weighed 50 kgs and I was (well, still am) 5″6 .Today I weigh 57 kgs. I have played around with (give or take) 10 kgs over the last 9 years.

Why? – because I ate more food ( you might know by now, I’m not one for complex explanations ).

But really it is as simple as that. Our stay only confirmed what I’ve known for a long time:

– I don’t like muesli.

– I will be just as happy with half of any food I eat.

– Exercise classes containing words like BLAST and BURN, are for insane people.

By the end of our stay, we had gotten a taste of what our food and exercise intake should be  and it felt good (minus the stiff arms,legs and slightly faint feeling on the first day).

If you’re looking for a relaxing break, this is still the place for you. You don’t have to do the classes, you can eat as much as you like and drown yourself in jacuzzis and saunas and steam-rooms. But do try and do what the place is intended for. You won’t regret it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

