Posted in Book reviews, Miscellaneous, Movie reviews, Movies, Reviews

Girls Girls Girls

Good-evening everyone!

Overnight I have become somewhat of a ‘Girls’ addict (tv show not gender). The HBO series follows the lives of four girls in their 20’s , struggling to make something of themselves in life and in the city. There isn’t more in the way of a plot . For some reason though it really resonated with me and I am now into the beginning of Season 2 (which incidentally is not that good. Stick to season 1).

Girls-TV-show-cast

 

I’ve decided our twenties are our most difficult age. I’ve decided this because  A) really, being an infant or  teenager was not that difficult and B) I have no clue about the 30’s , 40’s, 50’s, 60’s , 70’s , 80’s or 90’s.

So this leaves me where I am right now. The age of being asked :

– ‘So what now?’

– ‘But I mean… is this really what you want to be doing?’

– ‘Sooooo … KIDS! When are you having them?’

– ‘You’re really wearing that tomorrow?’

I think there is now, more than ever, an expectation to know the answers to these seemingly basic questions. And I do try to at least pretend I know what I’m talking about. But the truth is…  I’m not really sure I’ll wear that tomorrow, I don’t really have plans for kids (honestly are these things ever planned!), I’m pretty sure I have no idea what I should be doing, and if one more person asked me ‘what now?’ , I will unfriend them from my life’s friend list.

A combination of all of the above has turned me on to Girls. Watch it! If not all of it, at least the first episode!

Also, don’t read The Fault in our Stars by John Green … or at least I think it’s John Green.. I’m too irritated by the book to google his name. It turns out, someone thought it was a great idea to write about a teenager, who has cancer, and whose boyfriend has cancer, and whose friends have cancer! It doesn’t begin well, it doesn’t end well. On the plus side, the coffee shop I read it in has really great hot chocolate and is called Hale & Hardy in Wandsworth town. Check it out!

Hot Chocolate, Not so hot book.
Hot Chocolate, Not so hot book.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Girls Girls Girls

  1. I’ve been desperate to catch this show for a while and now I’ve read this review I’m even more determined! I totally agree about the 20’s being a difficult time too 🙂

Leave a Reply

