Posted in Cinema, Miscellaneous, Movie reviews, Movies, Reviews

Boldly going nowhere

Watching bad movies so you don’t have to.

This was terrible.

That's me, staring at the ruin that is this movie.
That’s me, staring at the ruin that is this movie.

I’m not the best placed person to review Star Trek , Star Wars, or  Star movies of any kind. I have either fallen asleep or switched to another movie within the first 30 minutes. Unfortunately this was so loud I couldn’t fall asleep and I had a lot of popcorn to finish (first world problems).

JJ Abrams’ latest instalment has Captain Kirk and his crew running after baddie John Harrison (Benedict Cumberbatch), aggravating the Cling-ons in the process by blowing things up on their planet. A lot of other things happen, a lot of moving parts, and all of this I felt tried to cover up for a complete lack of meaningful character interaction. Cumberbatch does a decent job of being the British bad guy, but I kept getting distracted by scenes like this:

Look familiar?
Look familiar?
Ahh yes. Now I remember.
Ahh yes. Now I remember.

 

Except you’re not watching the Avengers. You’re watching Star Trek.

In other news, that passport I talked about earlier? I got it. Now I can boldly go where billions of others have gone before, without a visa!

 

 

Leave a Reply

