Posted in Book reviews, Cinema, Miscellaneous, Movie reviews, Movies, Reviews, Travel

Riddickulous times

I knew I should have stopped watching these sequels 13 years ago with Pitch Black. What was a marginally new idea at the time is now as old and ridiculous as Vin Diesels’ swimming goggles.

Riddick returns in this round to a world which no-one can seem to locate. Sat-nav is apparently not on the  agenda.

Grumpy grumps.
Grumpy grumps.

He battles dogs, slugs, bad weather and a broken leg until he finally finds a ”safe haven”. In a bold move (and the only move to create a story for the movie to continue), he sends off a signal to alert anyone around him of where he is, waits for them to arrive, and plans to steal their plane when they come running.

What arrives is a Mexican team and an American team. I’m not being insensitive to ethnic diversity. This really is what happens. Short of wielding a guitar, the mexican team leader is called Santana (not kidding).

I’ll give credit where it’s due – it’s pretty entertaining in a stupid kind of way. Most of the movie is spent chasing after Riddick himself as opposed to running away from the monsters we were used to in Pitch Black. The creatures in this one only surface with rain apparently. So we here in England would be screwed.

riddick

 

In other news, here’s what I’m listening to and reading at the moment:

Arctic Monkeys 'AM' Album. I haven't liked an entire album for a long time. This is one of the few! Also manages to match the rainy autumn weather perfectly.
Arctic Monkeys ‘AM’ Album. I haven’t liked an entire album for a long time. This is one of the few! Also manages to match the rainy autumn weather perfectly.

 

I say this is what I've been reading ''lately'' but it feels like I will be reading this book for the rest of my life . It's huge. But I wouldn't mind it. Worlds away from where I am now and makes me want to go to India.
I say this is what I’ve been reading ”lately” but it feels like I will be reading this book for the rest of my life . It’s huge. But I wouldn’t mind it. Worlds away from where I am now and makes me want to go to India. Incidentally I am actually on 26% of the book. This snapshot was taken when I couldn’t quite believe that I had some 800 pages left.  

 

If you don’t watch Riddick, I won’t blame you. But try either of my other two recommendations and I guarantee you that you might possibly not regret it. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

