Posted in Miscellaneous

You and your cup.

Hello good people,

I never want to become old. I don’t mean grow old , we’ll all get there. I mean become old. I’ll explain..

It is now my second week in my new job, new office , and around new people. As a ‘new person’ , I was introduced to everyone and was shown around the chairs, tables, and kitchen ( I will never understand why these are ‘fundamentals’ for any induction process ) .

A couple of hours in, I decided to make use of the very important kitchen and make myself a cup of tea. By way of making conversation (bad conversation at that), I asked if everyone had their own cups, or if it worked on a first come first serve basis.

”Make yourself at home,” they said. ”Take whichever one you want ”.

I did.

A couple of days later, I made myself my cup of coffee in a rather nice mug (blue, white polka dots).

”I like this cup.” , I think to myself.

I sense her before I see her. She stands behind me.

” Vedrana, for future reference, … that’s my cup” .

” Oh my goodness. I’m so sorry. I didn’t realise it had your name on it”. I said this with no sense of sarcasm whatsoever. I was genuinely perplexed.

” It doesn’t…”

”Oh”.

I didn’t finish my coffee. I poured it out and washed the cup, thinking to myself that I never want to become that person. I hope life has better things in store for me than a cup fixation.

Image

To the left is my cup… But you may use it if you wish.

Leave a Reply

