Posted in Book reviews, Cinema, Comedy, Humour, Life, Movie reviews, Movies, Reviews, Travel

A Walter Mitty life

Hello there readers,

I saw this trailer a couple of months ago and knew it would be released as a movie you should ‘definitely see before the new year’ ; adventure, living life to the fullest, taking the bull by the horns etcetera etcetera.

image
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

I wasn’t wrong. Ben Stiller doesn’t do a bad job directing and starring in this short story adaptation and the majority of it is shot in Iceland and Greenland , featuring absolutely beautiful scenery, a volcano, and a questionable looking shark. Walter spends most of his time working for Life Magazine as a Negative Asset Manager ( No , I didn’t know what this was either ).

The other parts of his time are spent moving his mother into a nursing home and thinking about asking his work colleague on a date (but never actually doing so).

Walter’s mind frequently drifts off into another world;  a more adventurous one in which he is the hero, the explorer, the investigator. Long story short, his day dreams are cut short as he is presented with a tangible opportunity to go on a real adventure after misplacing a negative-image which is to be the last ever cover of Life Magazine .

DF-11070-Edit - Ben Stiller in THE SECRET LIFE OF WALTER MITTY.

I liked it.

It was a nice way of easing in to the new year and looking back over 2013 ( I did this later…not whilst watching the movie. I was too concentrated on the special effects and Stiller’s transformation into a ruggedly handsome nomad ). 2013 is one I will be glad to see the end of in many ways, but in others has been the best year yet.

I was there to see my best friend marry the man of her dreams in the place of her dreams.

I finally finished that dissertation.

I graduated (thank goodness).

I started a new job and company.

We got a brief look at pregnancy and realised it might not be such a bad thing to try after all.

I went to Brussels.

My cousin saw London for the first time ever and hopefully not the last.

I went to a Roger Waters concert, a Holi festival and Dublin.

Ok…so I didn’t have a fight with a shark or run away from an eruption. But , baby steps right?

Leave a Reply

