Posted in Comedy, Humour, Life, Miscellaneous, Movie reviews, Reviews, Travel

San Miniato + San Gimignano , Italy

Hello everybody,

A number of great things happened this week:

– I found aromatherapy bath oils on sale ! I now have a choice of smelling like lavender, rosemary and other herbs.

– I made friends with a neighbourhood cat , fed it milk, and did not get my eyes scratched out.

– I received my last injection of Zoladex . Hello Oestrogen , I have missed you.

On the theme of all things great, I will tell you a little bit about the two little towns in Italy which were my favourite :

San Miniato

 

Built on a hill. Everything in Italy is built on a hill.
Built on a hill. Everything in Italy is built on a hill.
Wooden shutters on windows - mandatory.
Wooden shutters on windows – mandatory. Pot plant allocation – one.

San Miniato was everything I imagined Tuscany to be. It seemed to have one of everything; one hospital, one school, one church, etc. We arrived in the midst of a public holiday and many places were closed leaving us a lot of time to wander empty narrow streets , occasionally scrambling to avoid cars which came out of nowhere.

San Gimignano

IMG_3805

San Gimignano was a little different. Famous for its’ medieval architecture, this place was a tourist hot spot . We strolled along the main street which sold everything from truffles and wine, to cheeses, bags, fridge magnets, and more fridge magnets.

IMG_3806

IMG_3810

IMG_3831

On the central square we sat on the steps and people-watched for a little while before settling down for a cappuccino . I learnt quickly that a latte was not really the ‘in’ thing in Italy.

IMG_3848

 

We also had a taste of some Tiramisu ice cream and a cake that looked like a scrotal sack (no other way to put it I’m afraid).

IMG_3847Make sure to pay these two towns a visit on your next trip to Tuscany  (San Gimignano has a shop that does free wine tasting too).

Leave a Reply

