Posted in Comedy, Humour, Life, Miscellaneous

Decorating : a decade in the making

Hello everybody,

This weekend, we did something we have never done before.

We decorated. We’re adults now . We decorate things.

Over the last 10-11 years, I can’t say we have ever done this successfully and I’m actually not even sure that this attempt has been more successful than any previous.

We got a rug. Obviously the decision making around the type, colour , size, etc  was entirely based around our cat. ( Get something that won't get dirty . Better yet, get something you can't *see* dirt on. Get something he won't tear apart. And so on ).
We got a rug. Obviously the decision-making around the type, colour , size, etc was entirely based around our cat. ( Get something that won’t get dirty . Better yet, get something you can’t *see* dirt on. Get something he won’t tear apart. And so on ).
We got a dining table. For the first time in years, we had dinner a) not on our laps and b) looking and talking to one another and not the T.V.
We got a dining table. For the first time in years, we had dinner a) not on our laps and b) looking and talking to one another and not the T.V. . As you can see the rug is a big hit. 

Reasons why we have never decorated:

– No space . ( Yes , space matters. And yes, I have seen that video where the entire house folds into itself . No-one has time for that).

– One of us has no interest. And I don’t mean a lack of motivation or drive . I mean a happiness in just living with whatever there is, wherever it’s placed.

– The other one of us has a complete lack of talent in decorating. This person is me.

The last reason is big .

I have read blogs, magazines, books , I’ve been to Ikea, I’ve signed up to Pinterest, I’ve picked up a free copy of ”House Beautiful” magazine that I saw on the train (someone left it behind). But give me a vase and I will put it in the middle of the living room , on the floor.

So the learning continues. Next, we’re attempting to maybe put up some pictures. It may take some years to decide on a frame or the layout but watch this space !

 

 

Leave a Reply

