Posted in Comedy, Food Reviews, Humour, Life, Miscellaneous, Reviews, Travel

Lazy cooking

Hello everybody,

I’d like to say that I enjoy cooking. But the truth is I do it because if I don’t eat , I will die. So I cook, begrudgingly.

I have tried all manner of short-cuts to feed myself (whilst keeping it relatively healthy). I have tried Jamie Olivers’ 20 minute meals (1 hour in reality – remember, you have to chop things and peel things and follow instructions) . I have even tried Jamie Olivers’ 15 minute meals. Same thing.

Recently, we convinced ourselves (Correction – we were convinced by a salesman) that ordering a ‘Gousto’ box is cheaper and faster than buying and making our own food.

You may have come across companies here in London, or elsewhere, who offer you fresh ingredients delivered to your door for what they claim is the same price as either going out for a meal, or buying organic ingredients from your local stores.

Gousto is one of those companies. And yes , for our first order it was cheaper (£20 for 4 meals for two people). But every order after that ? – £42 per week.

So here is my review of this experience. Pay attention because this is the last time I ever order a pretentious little Gousto box.

IMAG0885

Your box arrives. It is an obsessive compulsives’ dream; each of our four recipes had the exact amount of ingredient to make that recipe. If you recipe requires one spring onion , you get one spring onion, and so on.

IMAG0886

For our first recipe , I decided to try ‘Curry in a hurry’.

Your recipe card guides you through every step of the journey. I feel like I should use the word ‘journey‘ here because that’s how pretentious I felt cooking this.

IMAG0887

Very quickly you will start to realise that all the recipe cards and ingredients in the world will not take away from the fact that you have to cook this. And it will not look like the picture on the recipe card because again, you did it.

IMAG0888

I will give Gousto one thing . It is very, very tasty. The products are about as organic as they can be; it’s the best tasting chicken I have had in a long time and I will make this again (fortunately you can keep the recipe cards).

Next on our menu was a Double Chipotle Burger. Again very tasty. But my god, complicated to make.

IMAG0891

Tonight we will be having Mediterranean vegetable cous-cous. I’ve been keeping this menu item a secret from my husband who does not yet realise that the recipe contains no meat. Fun!

So, I’m not exactly a fan of the Gousto box. If you come across a good deal online or elsewhere, give it a try for the fun of it.

But remember: you still have to cook.

Leave a Reply

