Posted in Comedy, Food Reviews, Humour, Life, Miscellaneous, Reviews

A little bit of everything , but mostly coffee

Hello everybody,

Miss me ? I’ll take your silence as a yes.

As always a quiet blog = a busy life . We’ve been occupied with selling our home, taking care of our cat (it is a full time job) , working and studying hard , and I personally have been busy looking for the next best coffee shop. Fortunately, I’ve found a couple:

Timberyard, Covent Garden

IMG_5926

This place has interesting tasting coffee, probably one of the best so far. The Timberyard use an espresso bean called Jabberwocky and the taste is as great as the name; fantastic.

It’s also not a bad thing that they happen to do great brownies too. Everything from salted caramel and coconut, to triple nut chocolate. Everything you could wish for and regret immediately after eating ( one brownie equals one million calories – fact ).

Timberyard: more coffee, more brownies.
Timberyard: more coffee, more brownies.

The Association , Aldgate 

IMG_5613

This place – also not bad. A little bit out of my way being in Aldgate, East London but if you’re in the area, head on over to the Association.

Very good coffee and again , good brownies. If I’m to become a more interesting blogger , I have to try something other than a brownie whenever I go anywhere . Or I should start a brownie blog…

Brownie blog it is.

In other food news , we’re getting the hang of eating more ‘organically’ and trying to cut out red meats and gluten wherever possible (although you wouldn’t think it from any of my posts and also because gluten is in everything , seriously).

Today I’m making a green lentil pasta sauce. The recipe online said that it is a good substitute for mince meat . I showed this to my husband and we laughed and laughed.

What you need:

500g green lentils

3 carrots

3 celery sticks

3 cloves of garlic

1 onion

2 cans chopped tomatoes

1litre vegetable stock

– Cut up everything . Fry everything. Add lentils . Add chopped tomatoes. Add vegetable stock. Add 3 bay leaves, some salt and basil to taste. Cook everything until the stock is soaked up and the whole thing is thick. Add to your pasta and pretend it’s mince .

Enjoy !

3 thoughts on “A little bit of everything , but mostly coffee

Leave a comment